Installing .NET 1.1 in Vista 5456

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Jason, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Anyone who has tried to install .NET Framework 1.1 in Vista build 5456 knows that it just throws an error during install. Aaron Stebner has posted instructions on how to work around this issue on his MSDN Blog. Click below to view his post.



    http://blogs.msdn.com/astebner/archive/2006/07/06/658484.aspx
     
    Jason, Jul 8, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    Spoorzoeker

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would you do that ?.



    Vista had version 3.0 in it, so why bothering with 1.1 ?.
     
    Spoorzoeker, Sep 9, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    good point:D
     
    blackhat, Sep 13, 2006
    #3
  4. Jason

    dezza9995

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed a lot of programs insist on installing the .net framework before they will install themselves. Maybe this is why.
     
    dezza9995, Feb 14, 2007
    #4
  5. Jason

    Rdog2000

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could installing .net causevista to slow boot? Also, is there a safe way to uninstall it if I don't need it anymore (i.e. just uninstall it like any other program). Or do I have to do something extra to ensure that I mantain system integrity.
     
    Rdog2000, Dec 7, 2007
    #5
  6. Jason

    cyclic

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem is you do need it, it's probably the least known about thing installed by MS but it required for compiling and assembling all sorts of programs before running them, you absolutely do need to have it but if you want to you can turn it off, but not uninstall.

    Go to control panel add\remove progs and click on windows advanced features on the left hand side, this will bring up a list of things you can enable\disable by applying a tick or not, in here you will find .Net framework 3 but no other version.

    The problem with .Net versions is that whilst each is ostensibly an update to the previous version they also work as stand alone versions for some things, so having version 3 installed does not ipso facto mean that something specifically requiring a component of .Net 1.1 will be able to find it unless that version is specifically installed as well.

    Last thing to say about it really is that it has very rarely caused any problems, I cannot see for instance why any of it would have any adverse effect on boot times, but I cannot say I can be absolutely certain of it.
     
    cyclic, Dec 7, 2007
    #6
  7. Jason

    MrMagic

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    There should be NO circumstance under which .Net on any version should slow down boot or anything. .Net is the underlying GUI interface for many many programs and it should not be disabled. Its only called on by programs that need it WHEN they need it. You actually should have 3 versions available because as Cyclic said, they are all supposed to backward compatible with each other but that isn't always necessarily true. You will now see newer programs installing version 3.5 of .Net as well since Visual Studio 2008 has just been released and 3.5 adds some significantnew interface capability specifically to support the Vista GUI.

    Steve
     
    MrMagic, Dec 7, 2007
    #7
  8. Jason

    Rdog2000

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great info! Thanks. What if I installed 1.1 because a program asked for it and it wasn't preloaded. The only thing i see to turn off is 3.0 which I'll leave alone. Will the two versions bump heads with each other? (sorry if this is a dolt of a question). I installed several items for DVD authoring and .net 1.1 & now i have the 10 minute boot so I'm trying to see if I can isolate the problem. Right now the only thing I don't need is 1.1 because I'm not using the program that called for it anymore. But I'm afraid to just dump it since it is a MS program (even thoughI installed it)
     
    Rdog2000, Dec 11, 2007
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.