Hard disk space

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by bptba93, Jul 11, 2006.

  1. bptba93

    bptba93

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When trying to install Vista from XP i get that my partitions don't have enough space for temp files. my xp partition has 27 gb free and my vista parititon i wanna install it on has 10 gb free. why is it giving me this error message?
     
    bptba93, Jul 11, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bptba93

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    It has to copy over all the files and expands them and then install the OS, then it will delete the temp files. You will prolly need abour 15-20gb minimum to install.
     
    Jason, Jul 11, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bptba93

    bptba93

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    after it's done installing how big will it be? so i know how big i can shrink the parition so the xp parition can be bigger.
     
    bptba93, Jul 11, 2006
    #3
  4. bptba93

    bptba93

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    also do you know of any free partitioning tools?
     
    bptba93, Jul 11, 2006
    #4
  5. bptba93

    Mac

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    8 GB,i used knoppix live cd,all the instructions are there.
     
    Mac, Jul 11, 2006
    #5
  6. bptba93

    bptba93

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    k well i found a program you burn to disk and it's bootable.
     
    bptba93, Jul 11, 2006
    #6
  7. bptba93

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Whats the name incase someone else may want to know.
     
    Jason, Jul 12, 2006
    #7
  8. bptba93

    bptba93

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's called partition logic and it's free but i wouldn't use if you have data on your disks back it up because i used it and it found a error and couldn't continue so my xp was gone until i popped in the vista dvd and it ran chkdsk i don't know if it's working or not but it seems to be.
     
    bptba93, Jul 12, 2006
    #8
  9. bptba93

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    never had any problem with a 10GB partition. I dont use it to install programs
     
    blackhat, Jul 21, 2006
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.