Graphics Cards and Vista

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by jd11193, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. jd11193

    jd11193

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to buy a better graphics card for my computer, but I don't want to buy one that doesn't work with Vista. Is there any graphics cards that aren't compatible with Vista? Does the graphics card have to say vista compatible to work with it?
     
    jd11193, Aug 9, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jd11193

    AmericanNightmare

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    They do not necessarily have to say Vista compatible or Essential Vista and whatnot but it would not be a bad idea to get one that is Vista certified. We have an extensive list of cards that work with Vista here. The GeForce7 and 8 series are becoming quite affordable as of late.
     
    AmericanNightmare, Aug 9, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jd11193

    cyclic

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Of course if you can stretch financially to a decent Geforce 8 series card then you would be able to run any added features the DX 10 API can produce, if you have a budget in mind and don't mind sharing the info. we can make some worthwhile suggestions for your consideration and please don't bother about how much or little it is, there's always something that can be done within your means.
     
    cyclic, Aug 10, 2007
    #3
  4. jd11193

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I think it comes down to what you use your computer for. Do you do a lot of gaming? Word Processing? Do you just want Aero to work well. Let us know your needs, and like said above, your budget.
     
    Jason, Aug 10, 2007
    #4
  5. jd11193

    MiKe0589

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbus OH
    x2.if youare a gamer, and your not pressedfor DX10, the 7950 GT is FTW. ;)
     
    MiKe0589, Aug 27, 2007
    #5
  6. jd11193

    MrMagic

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am quite happy with the performance of my Radeon x1550 PCI-e. Previous to that I had a Radeon x1300 PCI which did work but since it was PCI only and not PCI-e, the performance was not very good. After upgrading to the x1550 PCI-e I have been quite happy with it, BUT I do very little gaming.

    Steve
     
    MrMagic, Aug 27, 2007
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.