Folder problem

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by TerryCano, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. TerryCano

    TerryCano

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I click to open a folder, it opens. When I select a file to open by clicking it goes to a "save as" drop down box. How can I change this behavior
    This behavior started a few months back on it's own. I didn't change any settings that I'm aware of.
    Thanks

    Terry
     
    TerryCano, Mar 3, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TerryCano

    TerryCano

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope not fixed and nobody has offered up suggestions yet
    Thanks
    Terry
     
    TerryCano, Mar 6, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TerryCano

    TerryCano

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope no replies problem still exsisit
    Later
    Terry
     
    TerryCano, Mar 6, 2014
    #3
  4. TerryCano

    Ztruker

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where (what program) are you selecting the file?
     
    Ztruker, Mar 10, 2014
    #4
  5. TerryCano

    TerryCano

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no program. I'm running Vista and clicking with the mouse.
    I have a folder on the desktop the folder contains data,
    When I click to open the folder and the show the folder contents
    it displays the contents but is waiting for me to input a file to save as
    There is no program associated with the folder
    Thanks
    Terry
     
    TerryCano, Mar 10, 2014
    #5
  6. TerryCano

    Ztruker

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you right click on it and select Properties? If so can you post screen captures of the General and Shortcut tabs please. Should look something like this (I'm on Windows 8 though):

    FolderGeneral.jpg

    FolderShortcut.jpg
     
    Ztruker, Mar 10, 2014
    #6
  7. TerryCano

    TerryCano

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I managed to fix it. I noticed that EST Virus protection would block a IP address when I'd click on folders. The address was vafcompressor/banner.html so I searched the drive and found a Tugu or something like that folder that contained the vaf files. I deleted the folder.Clicked on the folders and got can not open associated program couldn't be found so I set folder properties to default and it worked, Somehow the vaf set the folder properties. I didn't see that when I had looked in the folder properties.
    But it is working !

    Thanks for the input and help folks it kept me on the right track


    Terry
     
    TerryCano, Mar 10, 2014
    #7
  8. TerryCano

    Ztruker

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad you got it fixed.
     
    Ztruker, Mar 11, 2014
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.