Failed to install Vista?

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by Jason, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    When burning your DVD’s please do so at 1x or 2x and CRC them when done using the CRC utility posted on the Connect site. The customer experience improvement telemetry that we’ve been getting back on Beta 2 shows that not quite ¾ of setup failures are the result of a failure to read from the media. Testing shows that burning at slower speeds greatly increases the chances of a good burn.
     
    Jason, Jun 27, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    think we should make this a sticky, due to the amount of people having that problem..
     
    niffer022, Jun 27, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Will do, I think we have too many pins now, Im going to have to combine some/unpin. It takes up like 1/2 the screen. lol
     
    Jason, Jun 27, 2006
    #3
  4. Jason

    kaixadelta

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    bdw where is the connect site?
     
    kaixadelta, Jul 2, 2006
    #4
  5. Jason

    revenge7

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure the only problems a faulty DVD could cause are the ones involving copying the files to the computer.



    Instead of burning it to a DVD, you can download Daemon Tools, which mounts the ISO onto a virtual drive.
     
    revenge7, Sep 3, 2006
    #5
  6. Jason

    John_N

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    John_N, Sep 10, 2006
    #6
  7. Jason

    John_N

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Solved it,

    Disable your RAID settings in BIOS, this will get past Blank screen or CRC fail......

    All working now, only took 3 days of trying things tog et this working...
     
    John_N, Sep 11, 2006
    #7
  8. Jason

    jpolwort

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a newbie. What is the "pin" thingy? Where can I find the CRC check thing? Do I compare that to the "hash" reference in the MS Vista download site?

    Thanks
     
    jpolwort, Sep 12, 2006
    #8
  9. Jason

    Astrof

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My comp kinda installed vista,but it BSOD's on startup on my upgraded HDD, yet on my new HDD it worked w/o BSODing.
     
    Astrof, Dec 7, 2006
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.