Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog"

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by lasix1, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. lasix1

    mbark

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE: [SOLVED] Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog"

    Does "[SOLVED]" mean this issue has been solved? If so, I can't seem to find the solution. Could someone point me to the post which contains the fix?

    Thanks!

    -Mike
     
    mbark, Feb 18, 2010
    1. Advertisements

  2. lasix1

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    RE: [SOLVED] Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog"

    Looking through the posts, I saw post after post where one person after another had actually solved their instance of the problem.



    Did you try ALL of the solutions that each of the posters used? There's 11 pages of posts on this thread -- you need to read through them all and see if ANY of their solutions work for you.



    This is not one of those one-fix-cures-all problems.
     
    WAW8, Feb 18, 2010
    1. Advertisements

  3. lasix1

    pcncr

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE: [SOLVED] Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog"

    Hello,



    First of all, thanks to everyone who posted their solutions and solutions here, it's been awfully useful to read through. Even if it is a bit of a pain that there seem to be a myriad causes and fixes for the problem.



    Just like to add my solution, using Vista home premium, pretty standard dell inspiron 1525 laptop which has had more than a year's use so I daresay there're all sorts of skeletons hanging around here that can cause problems.



    I was receiving the exact same freeze-outs and error messages, prompting hard shutdowns, as everyone else who has posted here.



    The cause of my problem was again Symantec's Norton antivirus/internet security suite. Everything appears to be back to normal since I went into the settings menu and switched off “idle time scans” completely. It has now been about a day since I had the problem (vs every 5 minutes before I made this adjustment).



    I'm very glad that this seems to have sorted the problem as I didn't fancy going without antivirus altogether. So I guess this is a slight twist on switching off AV because in this case I was able to just change the settings.



    Many thanks again.
     
    pcncr, Mar 9, 2010
  4. lasix1

    davison2

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE: [SOLVED] Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog"

    At first trial it seems virus effect but scan has already been done and found no virus , So, I think there is some problem with MBR files. It can be mounted with repair disk. If it fails then re installation is the ultimate solution.



    But in this case there are chances of data loss also. When it happened to me I went for Windows Data Recovery Software from Stellar Phoenix.
     
    davison2, May 12, 2010
  5. lasix1

    BobFimbel

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE: [SOLVED] Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog"

    <SPAN id=ctl03_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater_ctl12_lblFullMessage><SPAN id=ctl03_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater_ctl04_lblFullMessage>Log on process has failed to create the security options dialog. <DIV class=tsgmessage>My daughters computer is a Dell 518 desktop running Vista Home SP2. The processor is a 2.53 Ghz, the computer has 3 GB ram &amp; 500 GB hard drive

    She received the following error when she turned it on yesterday.

    "Log on process has failed to create the security options dialog.
    X - Failure - Security Options. "

    The above error basically kills the computer. Unable to run programs, access the internet etc

    I'm able to boot into the safe mode with networking, without issue.

    I'm unable to run a virus scan, as the Charter Comm Security suite will not work in safe mode.</DIV><DIV class=tsgmessage>
    I've tried the following:
    1 - Ran a Anti-malware scan using Malwarebytes.
    2 - I ran a spy-ware scan using - SUPERAntiSpyware.
    3 - I did a system restore using a date three days ago - rebooted - no difference
    4 - I ran error checking on the hard drive with automatically fix file system errors - rebooted - no difference
    5 - turned off the service Super fetch - an recommendation from a Microsoft website - rebooted - no difference
    6 - I have run the Dell utilities to check the RAM &amp; Hard drive - no errors found
    7- I ran System File Checker (sfc /scannow - Start run) – this turned up no errors
    8 – I performed a system restore to date three days prior to the problem – this did not help either.
    9 - I logged into the true Administrator account, uninstalled the Charter Security suite, rebooted and reinstalled the Charter Security suite. As for right now trhe problem is gone. I will repost if the problem returns.


    </DIV><DIV class=tsgmessage>Bob</DIV></SPAN></SPAN>
     
    BobFimbel, Jun 12, 2010
  6. lasix1

    mephensean

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE: [SOLVED] Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog"

    I've been trying to fix some problems for a friend, on a pretty decent computer running Vista Home Premium. My main suspicion is that Vista is a huge pile of crap, for which the best solution is to just get rid of it. I used it for a bit on a laptop on which it came pre-installed, and briefly on my gaming desktop. The desktop now dual-boots Windows 7 (for gaming, not all that bad) and Linux Mint 8 (awesome for everything else I do). My laptop has run only Linux Mint (now version 9) for the past 2+ years, and I have encountered VERY few issues - so few that I am still amazed, as a former MS addict. It is remarkably stable, incredibly feature packed, very user friendly, can run much windows software (if needed, in a VM or with wine), and is 100% free.



    Anyway, here's what I've done to fix the problems on my friend's HP:



    1. Disabled Mcafee AV. It sucks, and has sucked for a long time. What a resource hog.

    2. Disabled Windows Defender.

    3. Disbaled Readyboost (not used anyway) through msconfig.

    4. Installed Avast!, free version, finding nothing.

    5. Installed and ran Spybot Search and Destroy, which found nothing major.

    6. Installed and ran Adaware free version, which also found nothing of any concern.

    7. Removed an old, obsolete university proxy setting.

    8. Used Windows update to install a few updates that had yet to be applied, including IE 8.



    Result: no ridiculous CPU usage or memory hogging, no cryptic error messages, and the system finally seems to be running as quickly as it should. It is early yet, but I am very pleased, and the HD is not spinning furiously when nothing is going on. McAfee is a well-known resource hog, but my bet for what has been causing so much havoc is on Windows Defender. I will suggest that he use a browser other than IE (I stand by Firefox, though Opera is excellent and Chrome is really coming around), for a little added piece of mind, but otherwise this configuration seems much better.
     
    mephensean, Jun 20, 2010
  7. lasix1

    cbutler84

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just experienced the same problem.....I am not a computer literate person so I cant tell you the specifics of what I did or how it worked but I seem to have repaired the problem by following these steps:

    1. hard reset (pc was frozen)

    2. reboot in safe mode using F8 key during windows reboot (in normal mode I could enter my profile*admin* in normal mode but when I attempted to run programs that involve any sending or receiving of downloadable content my screen would freeze without the ability to even run my task manager and the screen would eventually go black, then eventually the error message of topic was displayed)

    3. went to control panel>network and internet>internet options(sub option-delete browser history and cookies. *in the section that came up a made a few modifications: I checked the box for the option to delete browsing history on exit(general tab).....I then hit the delete button and modified the options....I unchecked the top box and checked all the boxes under it. Then confirmed the delete.

    4. I then went to control panel>programs(sub option-uninstall programs)....i uninstalled my virus scanner(Norton and Malware bytes) and my Internet Security provider(Panda IS 2011) along with other random things that had no relevance to the problem but that I wanted out of my system. Chose to restart at a later time to complete the uninstallation of my IS provider.

    5. went to start menu>computer.....right clicked on c drive and went to properties. Choose the tools tab and hit the Check Now button next to the error checking option. The top option will be checked but I checked the bottom option too....then hit start now....it gave me a message that said i couldnt do it now but did i wanna do it when i restarted...i chose yes.

    6. restarted the pc (had to do a hard reset because , of course, nothing is ever easy and my pc froze tryin to shut down.)

    7. took like 3 hours to run the disc check(with no errors) and i ran windows in normal mode and have had the freedom on my laptop that I havent experienced since it was new!

    ****NOTE****
    I dont claim to know what I did to fix it, but I had the very same problem you guys had and I fixed it after I got tired of readin these forums and not knowing what people are talkin bout with crazy named files that i dont know about and instructions that were so confusing that i wanted to trash my laptop and invest in paper and pen and just browse on my phone.

    system info: Vista Home Premium
    Sony Vaio Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual cpu T3200 @ 2.00GHz
    3.00 GB RAM
    32 bit operating system
     
    cbutler84, Sep 25, 2010
  8. lasix1

    starbaby

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem on a laptop and I think I've fixed it... several reboots later and the it's still going strong so fingers crossed.
    I'm posting this on here in the hopes that it might help one of the many people who have this issue - I've done some extensive googling and obviously this is a big problem, although there are many different fixes around.
    Anyway, basically, my laptop, which is running Vista Home Basic 32-bit, would slow down after login to the point that it was essentially frozen - opening the start menu took at least 5 minutes - and ctrl-alt-del produced the 'security options dialog' failure message. If I left it for 45 minutes or so it would eventually get through loading all the startup processes and behave normally. Booting up in safe mode produced no problems. Virus scans and event logs showed nothing.
    Eventually I worked out - as many others had - that it was an issue with the security suite, in my case TalkTalk Internet Security provided by F-Secure. In fact, when I tried it, I could not get the user interface to open. But with the security services and processes disabled everything was fine. After much messing around in msconfig I narrowed it down to the service FSGKHS, aka F-Secure Gatekeeper Handler Starter. With this service alone disabled there was no freezing and I was able to open the TalkTalk Security user interface. However, I had no idea why this was causing the problem. Even with every single other service and process disabled, except Group Policies, and only the F-Secure stuff running, the problem remained.
    I speculated that it might be a corrupt registry entry, but couldn't think of any way to identify or fix this other than a registry check program. Usually I steer way clear of these, but thought I might as well give it a try, so I created a restore point and ran CCleaner. I checked the results but nothing relating to F-Secure. I booted up with FSGKHS running anyway on the offchance, and amazingly it worked! No idea what was wrong in the registry that messed everything up, but the laptop is now running at normal speed from startup to shutdown!
    Like I said, I hope this solution will help out someone with this hugely annoying problem before they do something stupid like reformatting their hard drive as some people have done.
     
    starbaby, Nov 22, 2010
  9. lasix1

    SystemApe

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Possible Troubleshooting step

    Troubleshooting step which gave me solid intelligence
    1. boot to DOS using bootable disk
    2. locate HD in DOS
    3. plug in external drive or SD or USB and locate this as well
    4. start moving groups of folders to the external media using XCOPY
    5. if TS is effective should snag on certain files..

    Solution: use CRTL-X or CRTL-C to bypass error and then delete file in question then keep copying.

    Summary:
    What I found was that anytime windows encountered one of these files it would hang, and gave no option to do anything, but in DOS it would hang and I could exit the copy command then delete the file. I was unable to salvage the files in question and some of them were files associated with things like..my email client so basically at any moment while browsing it could hang while the built in email client was checking mail...IE seamonkey. Since then I still have concerns but I immediately pinpoint it by saying ok, what was open at the time. So the last time I had to uninstall Java, Seamonkey and Firefox and it was fixed...I started using chrome and removed all mozilla,java traces before continuing.

    Let me know =) I am pretty effective with troubleshooting so do not overlook this! I really want to know how the files became corrupt to begin with ! ><

    To be honest the only thing that I changed when this all began was an installation of a HP printer...a photosmart actually ...man it happened that night and it was fine before that. It is strange though because I of course immediately disabled the HP processes and as well as the spool service and no go. I even set up a batch file called print.bat that starts the network service so I can print wireless only when I need to...very effective actually. start --> type 'print' hit enter then print. My laptop does run hot but that does not seem to impact it as I have been watching the temp and keeping a fan on it...no impact.

    Keep reading for my needless ranting ;)

    I definitely spent too much time on this, normally a concern like this is a day tops and I am done with it but this one got me pretty good. I initially thought this had to do with asp.net since my install of that was completely messed up due to a botched un-installation of VS08. Anyway, I keep my processes/services pretty cleaned out, always have...so much so that I have never had to run any type of virus scanner, I had some problems with a few sneaky scripts but then started running script blockers while browsing and have not had a problem. anyway.. so many different things associated with this honestly all you can do is troubleshoot...you should have realized by now that your not a tech, your a freakin detective!

    myntrix.com
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
    SystemApe, Nov 29, 2010
  10. lasix1

    crtcg1

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    After three days of screwing around with this problem - I work from home and not having my computer is a crisis - and contracting a company to help me (they spent two days running crap cleaning programs on my computer) - I fixed this by unistalling AVG. Thats it! I don't know what I am going to do about anti-virus software but Vista doesn't get along with these programs. Also I have had this computer for three years and though I have had the occansional Vista related problem (particulary with winmail) this just started happening and I have been running AVG the whole time. Removing it took my physical memory from about 96% to about 40% and its working fine now. ... Oh dear
     
    crtcg1, Dec 8, 2010
  11. lasix1

    efrixione

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Logon process has failed to create the security options...

    Three days ago, I noticed that my desktop PC was slower and even the browser (Chrome) was slow in loading the websites. Sometimes even the mouse cursor would become invisible.
    This morning, I rebooted the PC and tried to do a system restore. Nothing. Vista (and its faulty security defender) would not let me do anything. I suspect somebody has been peeking into my hard drive (nothing to hide, maybe some porn and conspiracy theory websites), but they left the worm running and I was denied administrator rights on the computer. I even disconnected the cable modem. Useless. I had to do a clean re-install. It erased my family photos, movies, documents, my last three years income tax filings, including State taxes. Not to mention my favorites (a bunch of goodies). Now, I have a brand new computer, but empty. This sucks. Homeland security can do this without a warrant. Why are we a bunch of sheeple?
     
    efrixione, Dec 25, 2010
  12. lasix1

    SoxShectscecy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    My account and whores

    I'm sick so pls delete my account.
     
    SoxShectscecy, Jan 14, 2011
  13. lasix1

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    What???

    Did you create an account just so you could tell us to delete it?
     
    clifford_cooley, Jan 14, 2011
  14. lasix1

    ducati02

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This repaired the problem; Log on process has failed to create the security options dialog. Failure-Security options. I had the same problem. Windows gave me an update, live essentials 2011(kb2520039). My lap top was working fine before the update. After the update I had to turn the power button off because everything was locked up. In safe mode I went to system restore to remove the above update that was sent from windows. Now everything is back to normal. When I shut down my lap top that same update ran. At this point I am not having any issues.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
    ducati02, Mar 31, 2011
  15. lasix1

    ron1

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I started having lockups quite some time ago, and gradually came to realize that Windows had at some time, installed Windows Defender and later Microsoft Security Essentials, no doubt hidden amongst other updates. These, then piled on top of my ESET NOD32.
    As previously stated on this forum, it's a bad idea to have multiple anti virus programs.They compete.

    My compter is NOT set to automatic updates, but there are so many updates, you don't always pay close attention to them. A bad habit I intend to remedy from now on!

    I thought I'd gotten rid of Security Essentials & Defender, but after a short period of peace & quiet, started seeing the error, "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog" during a lockup/crash, and after reading everyones comments, found Windows Defender still lurking on my computer! (I think dumping Security Essentials may have allowed Defender to reassert itself.) Since turning it OFF yesterday, thanks to a link somewhere on this forum, my computer has not crashed the usual 4-6 times, (or more), today. In fact the machine is actually running noticeably faster, without the extra baggage! So my fingers are crossed folks. Cheers!
     
    ron1, Apr 14, 2011
  16. lasix1

    ron1

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good News!?

    Well, after disabling Windows Defender and rebooting, my computer locked up two more times. And, of course I had to turn the computer off cold. No doubt thumbing it's metaphorical nose at me, lol.

    So far that's it, over the weekend I did not have any other recurrence. And this had been going on a number of times each day, until that point.

    So I am hopeful that it was a problem from having two Anti Virus programs fighting it out.

    I mentioned that I thought I had previously disabled Defender, and had removed Microsoft Security Essentials, But I suspect that sometimes certain updates revive these programs.

    So I am going to pay a lot more attention before accepting updates. It is all too easy to see the updates available tab, while I'm doing something else, and say "Sure, whatever" and let it do it's thing. But NO MORE!
     
    ron1, Apr 18, 2011
  17. lasix1

    Tomdm86

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently got a laptop back from PC repair shop To replace its screen.

    It's a Toshiba Satellite, it's not my machine, I'm not as computer literate as most. It's 2 years old, has been infected and cleaned several times, was thinking of scrubbing it clean and putting Windows 7 on it as it is no longer under warranty. Clearly I came to this decision too late!

    Installed steam, updated java, windows updated. Don't have Norton, laptop came with AVG.

    Began encountering the same problems on the first day back, 10-15 minutes to startup and login in total, taxing the computer with basic functions causes it to freeze up starting with the programme running at the time, ending in complete freeze with mouse pointer still visible - ctrl+alt+delete without fail will prompt the screen to go black and after a while the dreaded "Failure - Security Options" requiring a hard-power down.
    Its extremely reliable to cause the fail simply by trying to play music via iTunes, or browsing the /C: drive with explorer.

    Everytime I hard switch off the laptop it will always prompt me to start in safe mode.

    System Restore froze, causing it to not rollback (But Steam had to be reinstalled).

    In safe mode I ran all of the AV we have, AVG, SpyBot and Malawarebytes.
    Following some advice from previous posts I removed AVG (It wouldn't uninstall, used their remover client), ensured Windows Defender was switched off, ensured the firewall was disabled. Disabled the User Account Control. Uninstalled "Toshiba Tempro" in case it was causing some conflicts.
    Blocked all start-up programmes.
    Uninstalled Malawarebytes, Mozilla firefox and java, (Which had 2 version 6 of itself installed, for some reason).
    Readyboost is apparently already disabled - I think.
    Tried an Error-check on C:.
    Uninstalled Spybot, got my hopes up, worked for approx 5 minutes, then hardfreeze.

    I wish I kept a list of what I was doing as I've missed out a few steps here but I've mostly just been following any promising sounding advice posted here by others before me, what with the constant hard-shutdowns as well Im not entirely certain how many of these changes have actually stuck. Nothing has worked. Nothing.

    I've been getting a RunDLL error for the past few weeks on it for a \appdata\roaming\ir41_qcxg.dll on startup, don't think that has an impact on the problem at hand.

    A quick check shows that my LATEST Vista update includes SP2, so Im still using SP1, for some reason - but, I can't update without it freezing before the installation, so I can't tell if SP2 would fix things.

    I swear I'm about to lose it, I've had very limitted problems with this laptop for the last 2 years in regards to OS failure and despite a few nasty viruses I've never had to haggle with something as annoyingly frustrating as this. At least with a virus I could still use the computer, as it stands currently, any program that I start, no matter how long I leave the computer for, will likely result in a "freeze" in under 2 minutes - from something as simple as listening to music, to moving files/folders and installing the latest update.
     
    Tomdm86, Jun 28, 2011
  18. lasix1

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Tomdm86:

    Personally, I don't like continuing these multi-page threads -- unless the poster has some specific solution-oriented comment to add that will help others solve the ongoing problem.

    This is NOT the case with your post. So, please, start a new thread with your problem. I don't want to keep this thread going on and on.

    And, BTW, it sound to me like you have a failing hard drive and/or overheating -- because you're crashing in SAFE mode.
     
    WAW8, Jun 29, 2011
  19. lasix1

    NationalAcrobat

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    AVG or Vista Update

    Hey all. Apologies if I missed a relevant post in the 12 or so pages that precede. I have this problem on a machine that is stripped down, custom tuned, and malware free.

    I have just updated AVG and I hope I do not have to remove it as it has been a mainstay of my defense for as long as 10 years. I have recommended it hundreds of times and installed on others machines dozens of times. I am in doubt that this product is the culprit.

    Interestingly, My machine is failing to update windows at the same time as this error arrived. The update button is in the task bar but cannot be clicked. I think the windows update process is the culprit (or points to it) as my WIN DEFENDER was already disabled.

    I am going to find a work around to update VISTA and will repost with my results.

    GL all.

    UPDATE: Well after about 7 hours of trying, I still cannot update to SP2, open my control panel conventionally, or boot without the aforementioned error. Even the SP2 readiness tool will not download and run properly. Strange.

    Anthony
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
    NationalAcrobat, Sep 2, 2011
  20. lasix1

    louie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tooele,UT,84074
    I "think" I hve a similar problem .myPC Dell inspiron 518 vista ultimate sp2.I used a program from avira ;avira rescue disk ,to attempt to remove my bug .It refered to two restore points I made . Came up W/ 4 threts . Parrt of one , they all start the same ie; [bad arcive header] \media devices\sda3\users\ etc. All the services are now owned by another entity.
     
    louie, Nov 24, 2011
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.