Dual boot existing Windows XP with Vista 5308 ?

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by manikm, Mar 8, 2006.

  1. manikm

    manikm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    I was wondering if itspossible to dual boot these (without 3rd party software)without harming the existing Windows XP OS ?

    Many thanks!
     
    manikm, Mar 8, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. manikm

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    It is, if you want to format, and start fresh with both OSs.

    Windows XP disk or Vista disk allows you to partition the hard disk however you like.
     
    Synapse, Mar 8, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. manikm

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    The best way to do it is to partition the drive into two, then install XP on one partition, then login to xp and put the vista cd in, hit fresh install from there and install vista to the other partition. Make sure you install it from within xp not just booting from the dvd as that will cause it to mess up your xp boot loader. I know from experience.
     
    Jason, Mar 8, 2006
    #3
  4. manikm

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Didn't mess up my partition. Hmm. Strange.
     
    Synapse, Mar 8, 2006
    #4
  5. manikm

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Well, I have 3 partitions and it never recognized my XP on the D:/ partition I dont know why but I booted it from the DVD, I hear if you install while in XP it will work better.
     
    Jason, Mar 8, 2006
    #5
  6. manikm

    craigwelsh

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i used partition magic to create a 18gb partition for vista out of my c: and the booted into xp after it was created, formatted it and mounted the vista iso using daemon tools and installed from there, worked fine and i can dual boot no problems. Really need to tidy up my boot loader though as its now got about 3 vistas listed!
     
    craigwelsh, Mar 16, 2006
    #6
  7. manikm

    F34R

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gah !! I can't find my partition magic program. I hate that lol. Never really used it much, now that I need it, it can't be located ! Grrr...



    UPDATE:

    HA ! I've found my 7.0 disc. Thank god. I couldnt stand to install anything that is a Symantec product, i.e. PM 8.0.
     
    F34R, Mar 21, 2006
    #7
  8. manikm

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    Check the Sticky in the tech forum about BCDEDIT it will show u how to remove those extra vista's on the bootloader.
     
    Jason, Mar 21, 2006
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.