Dual Boot Anyone?

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Jason, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Anyone running Windows XP and Vista on the same machine?
     
    Jason, Oct 8, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do.... :D
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 12, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Nice. How do you have it setup?
     
    Jason, Oct 12, 2005
    #3
  4. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows Vista took care of it all. I didn't have to edit anything or set anytihng up. I was suprised. Although it has two bootloaders now.. it works fine. When it first boots the computer it loads the new loader vista installed that has Legacy Windows option and Vista. Hit Vista is loads Vista, hit legacy it loads the old boot loader which has Windows XP Pro and Vista in the list. Vista on that list is the same. I set XP as default on the old boot loader and Legacy windows on the new loader. If I do nothing it boots Widows XP Pro auto.
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 12, 2005
    #4
  5. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    So when you installed Vista it did all of this automatically. Did you have windows xp already installed? I have Xp installed when I installed Vista but it just overwrote it.
     
    Jason, Oct 13, 2005
    #5
  6. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0


    I had XP already installed. Before I installed Vista I made a new partitioned from my current one using Acronis DiscDirector (you can use Acronis Partition Expert too, but I have SATA which isn't supported by Partition Expert but by DiscDirector). Then I played the Vista DVD into my drive restarted the computer and booted from DVD. When I came to where I choose where to install it to I choose the new partition I made. So you must have choose to Upgrade windows xp by choosing the same parition XP was on and install to the same place XP was. I'm sure you can choose the same Partition XP is on and then choose to install to another dir other then windows, like winvista instead and it should work. As long as you dont' choose to overright/upgrade XP it should automatically create a dual-boot. If you want my full PC Specs, I'm posting them on https://www.vistaforums.com/forum/Topic14-10-1.aspx now.
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 13, 2005
    #6
  7. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Oh I understand. I thought Vista made the partition on its own which is why I was in aww.
     
    Jason, Oct 13, 2005
    #7
  8. Jason

    WINDOWSvistaHowMany?

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    does this lower the memory to have 2 OS on 1 disk?
     
    WINDOWSvistaHowMany?, Feb 15, 2006
    #8
  9. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    No, having two OS's on a single disk does not effect the physical Ram/Memory. Since you can only possibly run one at a time, the other OS will not be running thus not using any ram. Now if you use a Virtual PC sorta thing it probably will effecty memory as you are basically running two os at the same time.
     
    Jason, Feb 15, 2006
    #9
  10. Jason

    Mahleumon

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm Looking for some Dual-Boot answers, I would like to alter my settings to have Win Xp Pro auto boot.



    I have a partioned Harddrive with Windows XP Pro as C: and Windows Vista as H:, I already had two other Harddrives of course. Once I installed XP and then installed Vista, it created my Boot Loaders. My system as it is now, auto boots into Vista after the Timeout, but I would like it to Boot into Xp.



    Here is my Windows Xp Boot.ini File. Not sure if you need my Vista file also, but just let me know.



    ;

    ;Warning: Boot.ini is used on Windows XP and earlier operating systems.

    ;Warning: Use BCDEDIT.exe to modify Windows Vista boot options.

    ;

    [boot loader]

    timeout=30

    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

    [operating systems]

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /FASTDETECT /NoExecute=OptIn





    What do I need to add, change, or edit to get my Boot Loaders the way I want them?



    Thanks,

    Dan
     
    Mahleumon, Feb 21, 2006
    #10
  11. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I belive you need to edit the boot.ini which is located in windows vista not the xp one since the vista boot loader overrides the xp one. Actually forget what i just said, i just noticed that under your timeout="30" your default OS is set to XP since you are pointing it to the XP OS ON



    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS <--- should be like....

    default=multi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS you need to point it to the other disk im not sure if the syntax is completely right since ive never had another OS on a completely different disc, I usually have 1 disc partition into 2, but your way will work.

    Here is mine for reference but Im not using 2 physicall discs, just 1 partitioned into 2



    This launches vista after 30 seconds

    [boot loader]

    timeout=30

    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

    [operating systems]

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windows XP Professional x64 Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows Vista" /fastdetect
     
    Jason, Feb 21, 2006
    #11
  12. Jason

    DMikeM

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have Win2003 Server RC2 and Vista on a dual Boot. I was using System Commander as a Boot Manager but Vista messed it up. So now I have 2 1 unknown in System Commander and 1 Vista Beta. If I choose Vista Beta I get NTLDR missing, If I choose Unknown I get the Vista Boot Loader with Windows and Legacy Pre Longhorn which gives me a choice between W2k3R2 and Vista.



    I think I will format out Vista and Set System Commander to hide C from D and try again. Microsoft's Idea of a boot loader is pretty much junk.
     
    DMikeM, Feb 25, 2006
    #12
  13. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    Yeah I hate microsoft's boot loaded prescendec as well, where you must install xp then vista. Pretty stupid.
     
    Jason, Feb 25, 2006
    #13
  14. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I belive that is it better for it to be on a seperate physical driver, actaully so that is good. Beta ackts a little funny when it comes to dual booting right now. I am told you should run xp, then insert the vista dvd, and hit fresh install, then select the cooresponding physical drive to install on. This seems to help prevent a lot of issues.



    Once you install vista it will mostlikely boot up first when you turn your computer on, then what you need to do is right click on my computer > advanced system settings (on the left) > startup/recovery settings > and changed the default OS to Legacy. This is "suppose" to work, but it didnt work for me, it is suppose to then show the boot menu on startup. It may not be working for me, because when I installed vista I booted with the CD and didnt run it from within XP. From what I hear this method should work for you if you install windows from within xp. Even if you still have problems and all hell breaks lose you can always repair your xp boot loader.





    I am sort of sitting in the same boat where I have xp pro x64 installed and then I installed vista on another partition. Well now every time my computer turns on it always runs vista, and in 5308 they did without the boot.ini file so now there is this app called bcdedit.exe located in the system32 folder in which is suppose to be used to change around the boot order/loader.



    Another Method you can do to boot XP if your boot loader gets messed up and only launched Vista is to do the following:



    Beg borrow or steal from a friend their boot files from their system drive on xp.





    AUTOEXEC.BAT 0 bytes MS-DOS Batch File

    boot.ini ??? bytes Configuration Settings

    CONFIG.SYS 0 bytes System File

    IO.SYS 0 bytes System File

    MSDOS.SYS 0 bytes System File

    NTDETECT.COM ?? KB MS-DOS Application

    ntldr 244 KB System File





    AUTOEXEC.BAT, CONFIG.SYS, IO.SYS and MSDOS.SYS are just placeholders for most XP installs. NTDETECT.COM and ntldr are needed. boot.ini will need to be edited to point towards your XP install.



    [boot loader]

    timeout=30

    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS

    [operating systems]

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /noexecute=alwaysoff

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Base" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /noexecute=alwaysoff





    [boot loader] - Is just a comment



    timeout=30 - Is your time out for automatic boot to default OS



    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS - Guess what? The default OS.



    [operating systems] - Another comment



    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1) - Physical location of your XP install.



    \WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP" - represents the name to be displayed on screen in a multiboot configuration.



    noexecute, fastdetect and noexecute are commandline options. You can use these in most situations.



    alwaysoff is a safe setting for noexecute with almost all CPUs and XP service packs.



    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Base" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /noexecute=alwaysoff - Represents a second XP install, you get the idea here I think. All you need to do is point your BIOS towards your desired XP installation location or locations.



    Once you have a boot.ini file that adequately represents your XP install location just burn it to a CD or floppy and when you want to run XP boot from it. After Vista times out on you just, copy the files to your system drive and delete Vista. I don't know whether 5308 has more goofy tricks like the usenewloader stuff but on past Vista releases this could recover the pre-Vista state of the system drive when things went 'wrong'.
     
    Jason, Mar 4, 2006
    #14
  15. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    Nice! that worked for me! now I can actually see what bcdedit is doing. Im gona have to add this at VistaFAqs.com (one of my other vista sites, if you have any good FAQS just submit them and Ill get them up)
     
    Jason, Mar 4, 2006
    #15
  16. Jason

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    I'm booting XP, XP x64 Edition, and Vista build 3008 on one machine.

    I'm cool like that. :D
     
    Synapse, Mar 4, 2006
    #16
  17. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Dang, thats a lot of booting. Im trying to boot just xp po x64 and vista 5308 but in the later builds of vista they did w/ out boot.ini which causes a lot of problems w/ this. Lucky you, didnt have to mess with that w/ 3008.
     
    Jason, Mar 5, 2006
    #17
  18. Jason

    96 gts

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm Dual Booting Vista and XP Pro on two seperate Hard Drives, and it went without a hitch. I knew from the start I wanted to dual boot, so I went a bought a new hard drive. All I did was bring up my existing XP install, pop in the Vista DVD, tell it do do a fresh install, point it at the new drive, and off it went.

    The bootloader is fine too, no conflicts between Vista and XP, when I boot, I get the standard "Vista" or "Previous Version of Windows" and if I select previous version of Windows, it loads just fine.

    Pretty idiot-proof :p
     
    96 gts, Jul 27, 2006
    #18
  19. Jason

    doghucat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same set up and have did the clean install thing with the last three builds up till the latest 5472 and in the boot screen it know says vista and earlier version of windows for xp and have set the boot loader in vista for xp to start first in the boot sequence3 and all works fine real nice.
     
    doghucat, Jul 28, 2006
    #19
  20. Jason

    Virnik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally did it!

    Yeah. I am talking about combining all M$ Systems and two linux distributions to one Bootloader.

    Why? Cos i work as a IT administrator, and tester specialist. Besides, my work is about linux, and about windows too.



    So. Here is my howto:

    1) If you have Windows 9x/ME/2k/XP already installed on some partition, proceed to point 3)

    2) Unplug all not needed HD drives, keep only one, on which you want install your old Windows, and do it. Do the same for any other Windows version, u might have

    3) Switch your HDDs back, but remember, partition, on which shall we install Windows Vista, MUST be first one. OR, it MUST be NTFS formated, if you want install Vista on another partiton or disk (so first HD/partition must be Vista only, or must be free and NTFS formated, or with Windows 2k/XP installed on it. First partition of first HD can´t be VFAT (FAT32 for n00bs)).

    4) Now, if you r not using linux, skip this point. If you r using linux, u can choose, when you install it. It doesn´t depends on it. U can have it already installed, or install it later, there is always easy way to restore, configure and use your favourite BootLoader (LILO, GRUB). So, for this case, prepend that we have linux already installed, configured, and we r happy with it. Unplugging discs in point 2) is really useful, because Windows always harmlessly rewrite MBR, in which case we need reinstall GRUB ("grubinstall /dev/hda" for MBR). It is easy, but why we shall do something, that we do not need? .-)

    5) Install Windows Vista. As I said before, install it on partition of disk of your choose, but don´t forget, that first partition of first disk (from which we will boot) must be NTFS. If you r installing on first partition or first disk, you are OK. If you r installing on...for example F: drive, asure yourself, that WinXP or Win2k are installed on first disk and first partition. Or, format this first partition to NTFS in installer of Windows Vista.

    6) Now - We have Windows Vista installed, We can choose from Windows Vista and Legacy Windows options from boot menu. If we press Windows Vista, it will boot Windows Vista. If We press Legacy Windows, older nt50 boot loader (Windows Vista uses nt60 boot loader) is launched, and then we can again choose from Windows Vista and all Windows that we had installed before.

    7) Last and FINAL TASK - How we can unify this all to the one boot loader?

    Download GRUB Installer for Windows (if you r using linux, foget id and do "grubinstall /dev/hda," so u can skip this point) from . OK, uncompress it (with WinRAR, for example). Create directory c:\backup, and extract all files from this archive to this (stage1 and stage2 are most important!!!). Now, find and edit C:\boot.ini (this file is hidden by default, so switch folder option to show hidden and system files), and copy this line in it: ´C:\boot\stage1="GRUB"´

    Now we can run grubinstall.exe file. It creates all things needed.

    So, next step is to edit 1stmenu, or grub.conf (depends on version) file. We need to insert here sections for each Windows installation, we have.

    So, for two Windows version, Windows Vista, which shall be on C:\ (first partition of first disk) and Windows XP on F: (which shall be on second partition of third disk) we need to write here:



    default=0 ->which title shall be booted by default?

    timeout=10 ->how many seconds GRUB shall wait before start booting default?

    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz ->we dont need this section. But if u like games, or playing with tools, you can modify this, and GRUB then will show some nice picture in the menu, as a background



    title Windows Vista Ultimate

    rootnoverify (hd0,0)

    chainloader +1



    title Windows XP Professional

    rootnoverify (hd2,1)

    chainloader +1



    Look at the "rootnoverify" line. GRUB see all
     
    Virnik, Sep 19, 2006
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.