Downloads are slow and "time out" before they are thru.

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by hobertgirl, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. hobertgirl

    hobertgirl

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I download anything, it runs terribly slow and it will "time out" before it is done. Should I take off UAC will the download runs.

    Thanks so much for your help!

    Bonnie
     
    hobertgirl, Feb 3, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hobertgirl

    PC509

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boardman, OR
    UAC shouldn't affect the downloads. It should only ask when you try and run it.

    Is the download from the internet slow, as in KB/s? Or is it over the local network? There are several hot fixes that fix the localnetwork slowness. Make sure you do all the Windows Updates.
     
    PC509, Feb 4, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. hobertgirl

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Download speed is totally unrelated to UAC, however, it is affected by the load on the file source. Could be that the server is heavily loaded and very slow.



    Suggest going to the link below and running the speedtest on a server close to you. That will at least indicated if your internet connection is real slow:



    [url]http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/ [/url]
     
    WAW8, Feb 5, 2008
    #3
  4. hobertgirl

    hobertgirl

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is the internet, KB's.
     
    hobertgirl, Feb 8, 2008
    #4
  5. hobertgirl

    hobertgirl

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your information. When I entered my information into Speakeasy to check my speed it would not go through as my zip code was not recognized. Is there any other way to check the server? I have dial-up.

    What is the file source?

    Thanks again,

    Bonnie
     
    hobertgirl, Feb 8, 2008
    #5
  6. hobertgirl

    polygone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought I had read that you have dial-up internet. Is that correct?
     
    polygone, Feb 8, 2008
    #6
  7. hobertgirl

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Here's another one:



    [url]http://www.bandwidthplace.com/ [/url]



    With dial-up, you're going to get real low speeds. What is the top speed of your modem?



    If you don't know, go into Device Manager and tell us what make and model it is.
     
    WAW8, Feb 8, 2008
    #7
  8. hobertgirl

    hobertgirl

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI, My modem is Conexant D850 PCI V .92. I do have dial-up.

    I am using Vista Home Premium.

    Tips on why it ,also, times out when I download. I have it set not to disconnect??

    Thanks a Million!!

    Bonnie
     
    hobertgirl, Feb 10, 2008
    #8
  9. hobertgirl

    TimeRanger

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    It *might* not be the computer. It could be an issue with your ISP. Have you consulted them?
     
    TimeRanger, Feb 10, 2008
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.