display problems, maybe power issue

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by bob1412, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. bob1412

    bob1412

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys

    i need some help with some display problems i'v been having.

    i recently bought a new radeon hd 3870, but at certain times when booting up vista my display flickers

    and keeps resizing?

    im thinking it might be power issues. i have a winpower ATX-500 500w psu,

    do you think this psu will be ok to power all this?

    intel Q6600

    asus p5kc motherboard

    4gb drr2 800mhz

    radeon hd 3870

    320 gb samsung hd

    250 seagate hd

    ?
     
    bob1412, Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bob1412

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    You may find this ironic, but display flickering is the standard example that MS uses to indicated problems with display drivers. Their solution depends on what happened before.



    If the display used to be OK and only flickers since a driver upgrade, either rollback the driver to the older version, or use System Restore to get the system back to a previous state before the driver was upgraded.



    If there is only the original driver, they suggest getting a driver upgrade from the hardware supplier.
     
    WAW8, Mar 3, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bob1412

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    And BTW that PS is plenty powerful enough to run those parts.
     
    Jason, Mar 3, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.