Cyberdefender and Polar Meter software compatable?

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by any1have1, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. any1have1

    any1have1

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In orbit around the Sun
    I am thinking of upgrading to Vista 64, or the Win 7 Beta 64 - from WinXP 32.



    I have the paid version of Cyberdefender anti-virus software which I really like, and a Polar heart rate meter with an IR scanner.



    Does anyone know if these will move to Win Vista 64 - I assume yes, but I read that there are compatibility issues with some software and drivers.



    Are there any guidelines or 'rule of thumb' for determining compatibility?
     
    any1have1, Feb 15, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. any1have1

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA


    We have a linked post that will direct you to the MS site where you can check individual applications for compatibility.



    General guidelines:

    1) Anything that uses a 16-bit installer will not work in 64-bit Vista or newer.

    2) Apps written using XP drivers for video and/or audio will most probably NOT work in Vista.



    Also realize that even two years AFTER 64-bit Vista made the scene, there are still problems getting some stuff to work in 64-bit Vista.



    So, only the application provider knows for sure whether or not their app works with Vista 32-bit or 64-bit. MS has done some testing and posted their results on the link referenced above.



    Since Windows 7 is based on Vista, anything that doesn't work in Vista is likely NOT to work in Seven as well.
     
    WAW8, Feb 15, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. any1have1

    rockin42nite

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    any1hav1,



    Since you have the paid version of Cyberdefender you get access to their 24/7 customer support, by email or phone (I have it too so I know). Give them a call and ask them about the compatibility.



    They are so wondrful and helpful over there. We had a problem getting our scanner to work with our computer - I know it seems so silly - but sometimes computers are just silly like that. Anways, I called them and got someone right away and they helped me no probljm. They're goo dlike that (thanks Cyberdefender crew!!)



    Best of luck to you - i hope itall works out okay for you.
     
    rockin42nite, Mar 25, 2009
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.