Corrupt Vista Recovery Partition

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by ambledl, Nov 19, 2007.

1. ambledl

ambledl

I think I've seensome answers to my queries elsewhere in this forum but still aren't wholly confident or clear on the solutions so my apologies for any repetition. I'm a relatively novice (but silver-haired!) home PC user. My first ever PC, a Dell C521, came 9 months ago with Vista pre-installed on C: and a 10gb recovery partition (D:) on the same hard drive. Following a recent catastrophic failure (posted elsewhere in this forum) I've had to do a full rebuildfrom scratch, a steep learning curve, and now seem to have a full working system once more.

But....... On my first attempt to restore Vistafrom the reinstallation DVD that came with the PC I mistakenly selected D: for the restore.On realising my mistake I reinstalled to C: and my system seems to be working ok.

Except......I now have a virtually full D: drive containing mostly a corrupted Vista installation which I would like to get rid of. Also, at eachstartup I get asked to select one of2 Vista operating systems. My second choice always fails so I suspect that is a D: boot and that my original installation to D: has formatted it as a bootable drive, albeit with a corrupt Vista operating system.

So........ My questions are: a) how do I get rid of the Vista content of the D: drive? It will not allow a Delete from Windows Explorer. b) Is it advisable and safe, at the same time, to format D: as a non-bootable drive?If so how can this be done? Presumably D: doesn't need to be bootable and making it non-bootable would presumably get rid of the the selection screen for 2 Vista systems on startup. c) Is it necessary to have such a large (10Gb) recovery partition? If not can it be easily reduced?

Lastly......... I hope it is possible to do any or all of the above without wiping my whole system and doing another full rebuild, not a pleasant job for this slow-fingered user.

Thanks in advance.