Changing shortcut icon

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Earl J Hickey, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. Earl J Hickey

    Earl J Hickey

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Beta 2, build 5384

    After installing some programs, I need to change the icon as it's pointing to some install file that doesn't exist ("%SystemRoot%\Installer...") instead of the program's executable.

    When I go to the shortcut properties, click on Change Icon, and look for icons, I get Access is denied messages when trying to assign new icons. I can change the icons on the quick launch bar, but not on my desktop or start menu.
     
    Earl J Hickey, Jun 14, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Earl J Hickey

    Earl J Hickey

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I the only one seeing this, or is there nobody who knows how to fix it?
     
    Earl J Hickey, Jun 19, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Earl J Hickey

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    hey mate i can see your post but i am unable to help you.... i know this sounds daft but have you tryed to do it in safe mode?????????
     
    niffer022, Jun 20, 2006
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.