Cannot run system restore HELP PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Recovery & Backup' started by logen726, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. logen726

    logen726

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Dell Vostro 1510 32bit. Intel core 2 CPU 3.0GB. Last week, I re-installed the operatng system - Vista because computer was runiing very slow and freezing up. Before the re-install, whenever I tried to do a system restore in safe mode and regular mode, I received the following error:

    System restore did not complete successfully. Your computers system files and settings were not changed. Detail: an unspecified error occured during system restore.

    After I re-installed Vista, I thought the problem, among other things, would be fixed. Just tried running system restore and got the same message. I removed Norton Security thinking that might be the casue. However, I'm using AVG 2011 (which I've used for several years) and could run system restore before the problem occured. I have read a lot of posts trying to see if anyone has a solution to the problem. By the way I just started using Carbonite back up. But I had the problem before using Carbonite. I don't have a whole lot of experience or technical background, so I've tried some fixes that I can do with my limited expertise :rolleyes:. I would appreciate any help to resolve this problem. Not being able to do system restore makes me nervous. If given step-by-step solution, I can follow. Thank you for any help you can provide.
     
    logen726, Jul 26, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. logen726

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I've personally found System Restore to be useless. Folks think it restores your machine to a previous state -- but it does not. All it does is overwrite newer versions of system files and the registry with older versions.

    A much more useful, and reliable, method of backing up (and recoverying, if necessary) is to use a third-party tool like Acronis Backup and Recovery or Macrium Reflect.
     
    WAW8, Jul 26, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. logen726

    logen726

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you

    I read about Macrium in an earlier post and have downloaded it. Thank you for the advice. This is a big help, especially when I do something wrong.
     
    logen726, Jul 26, 2011
    #3
  4. logen726

    logen726

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the good advice. I read your reply in an earlier post. Will use Macrium.
    Thanks again.
     
    logen726, Jul 26, 2011
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.