Can a SP1 COA key work with SP2 OS?

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by Anon_nj, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. Anon_nj

    Anon_nj

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mean my friend had Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP1 came with the COA key.

    Also his PC crashed so I'm going to format his PC, so the only disc I have is a Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP2 OS, if I install SP2 can I use the SP1 COA key in order to activate Windows? Or will it say error wrong key entered?
     
    Anon_nj, Apr 5, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Anon_nj

    Gilgamesh

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes the key will work with SP2.
    But it will only work with Vista Ultimate and not any of the other editions.

    Now it sounds like your friends key may be an OEM key rather than a retail key. So it won't activate online, you will just need to follow the instructions that come up to activate it over the phone.
     
    Gilgamesh, May 11, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Anon_nj

    Plast0000

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it should work
     
    Plast0000, Aug 13, 2014
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.