Browsers won't browse

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by John Canuck, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. John Canuck

    John Canuck

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My network setup has changed a fair amount so this MAY not be a Vista problem. First I'll describe the problem and then I'll describe my setup...

    Occassionally, I am unable to browse the internet. I can still ping URLs and uTorrent is still active but my browsers don't seem to want to do anything (address can't be found error). If I reboot it usually takes care of the problem.

    I am using Vista Premium Home edition (factory install). I have a cable modem and a Linksys wireless router. I also have a Vonage adapter in the mix.

    I haven't noticed a pattern but it does seem to happen after I leave my computer unattended for several hours (perhaps related to hiberation???).

    Thanks for any help.
     
    John Canuck, Feb 27, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. John Canuck

    Crispy

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turn off sleep and hibernation. Many people have been having problems with it.
     
    Crispy, Feb 28, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. John Canuck

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Yeah some network adaptors dont appear to function properly after sleep or hibernation.
     
    kingofnexus, Feb 28, 2007
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.