Britannica Deluxe 2007?

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by MacMorrighan, Jan 9, 2009.

1. MacMorrighan

MacMorrighan

Hey guys, I'm a desperate newbie:

Long story, short--I'm going (well, trying to, anyway) from my old DELL model installed with Windows ME (it's gotten insufferably slow, and I no longer seem able to access MS Word...and, that sucks, 'cause I'm working on a book!)to a new 530S (the cheapest home-model they have, at $300!), with Vista Home Basic (the only version I can afford, apparently, with $500). Of course, I also need a modem (only hve a dial-up connection, due to finances), a CD-burner (for burning music and book chapters!), a DVD burning (for watching/burning DVDs, if I can, albeit Movie Maker and DVD Maker are not a part of Vista Basic), and an Intel Celeron Processor (the only one I can afford, although I also want to make some personal videos to eventually post on-line after editing them). But, I digress...

In my zeal, I picked up a copy of the Encyclopedia Britannica 2007 Deluxe, for research purposes, when I thought that I was going to be able to get a new PC (all I need is a tower, 'cause I've got a monitor, keyboard/mouse and all-in-one printer!) that I could easily buy installed with XP! Little did I know that, rather ironically, getting an older MS OS installed on a tower would actually be MOPRE expensive than getting vista. So, I'm now wondering if my Britannica software is going to be compatible with Vista Home Basic! I've heard conflicting views: