BOOTMGR is compressed

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by MafiaLord91, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. MafiaLord91

    MafiaLord91

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I broke something big time. I can't get into my computer with that and I don't want to format since I have basically everything on that computer. When I boot up I get a message saying:BOOTMGR is compressed

    Press CTRL+ALT+DEL to restart. I have an 80 gig that I am not using.
     
    MafiaLord91, Jun 14, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MafiaLord91

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Somehow you compressed the drive your windows install is on:

    If doing startup repair from the dvd doesnt work..

    Boot with the Vista DVD, when it enters Setup hit your SHIFT-F10 keys Setup will run "cmd", and drops you to a command prompt that is running with SYSTEM privileges.

    Then at the command prompt type the following (hitting <enter>) after each line.:

    attrib bootmgr -s -r -h
    del bootmgr
    ren temp bootmgr
    attrib bootmgr -a +s +r +h




    You could also try:

    bootrec /fixmbr
     
    Jason, Jun 14, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MafiaLord91

    MafiaLord91

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't work.
     
    MafiaLord91, Jun 14, 2007
    #3
  4. MafiaLord91

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Do the command "expand bootmgr temp" first.



    The commands aren't working because when you attempt to rename "temp", you haven't actually created anything to rename.
     
    WAW8, Jun 15, 2007
    #4
  5. MafiaLord91

    MafiaLord91

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just going to install on my 80 gig and then put all my stuff on the 160 gig. If this happens again though this will help (as it has before).
     
    MafiaLord91, Jun 15, 2007
    #5
  6. MafiaLord91

    pestguard1

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try this ........it worked for me

    Boot from the Vista DVD.
    Click 'Repair my Computer'
    At the prompt to select your OS installation, click the button that says 'Load Drivers'. This should bring up a explorer-style drive browser.

    Then just right-click on the drive you tried to compress, and deselect 'Compress this Drive', which should still be ticked on. Hit apply, and apply to subfolders/files.

    Reboot.
     
    pestguard1, Aug 12, 2008
    #6
  7. MafiaLord91

    BugMeNot

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have same problem nd my Vista DVD is not booting for some reason..I had a live dvd of ubuntu 8.10 nd am using it rite nw..I need to kno if:

    1]Someone can get me a decompressed BOOTMGR file [i wanna try replacing that file]

    2]an NTFS partition can be decompressed from Ubuntu

    3]if anything can be done using a XP cd??[i have a XP SP2 cd]

    plz reply me on racybhavik@gmail.com if possible
     
    BugMeNot, Feb 10, 2009
    #7
  8. MafiaLord91

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Linux utilities, especially GParted, can't handle Vista partitions well, and nearly always require a Startup Repair to be run from the Vista DVD to restore boot capability.



    If you can't boot from your Vista DVD, you're in bad shape because, not only can you NOT run Startup Repair, you're also not able to boot into a command line.
     
    WAW8, Feb 10, 2009
    #8
  9. MafiaLord91

    amery buck

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0


    Its really very easy procedure which i tell you. Simple attach your 80 gb hard to another computer and save your data on it and than reinstall your operating system. If you simple repair it. It will be chances that it shows any error again.
     
    amery buck, Feb 11, 2009
    #9
  10. MafiaLord91

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Amery:



    Your sig contains links, which is OK, unless you're advertising products or services that are for sale. So, are yours free or for sale? If the latter, please remove the links from your sig.



    Also, while I understand that reinstalling Vista is supposed to be easy, you might be surprised how many folks, after purchasing a machine with Vista preinstalled, never bother to make recovery CDs -- and, therefore, are simply unable to reinstall their OS.
     
    WAW8, Feb 11, 2009
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.