Boot Loader in 5308

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Jason, Mar 3, 2006.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    So I installed 5308 on one of my partitions, on the other partition I have Xp Pro x64 running. After installing vista and I go to computer > advanced prop > startup settings, and I change the default OS to Legacy, nothing comes up or anything. How do I access the Boot.ini file?
     
    Jason, Mar 3, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Ok well I found out that in the later builds of Vista like 5308 they are doing w/ out the boot.ini and are using a utility called bcdEdit.exe to modify the boot loader. But when I run this it just flashes the command window and then closes.
     
    Jason, Mar 3, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    _Venom_

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you running it in the command prompt window?



    If not just go to run, type in cmd and try bcdEdit.exe.

    I think the command prompt window is also in the vista start panel in the vista builds, though I don't quite remember.



    :unsure:
     
    _Venom_, Mar 3, 2006
    #3
  4. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    Ya I have tried running it from command prompt, I navigate to system 32 folder and type in bcdedit.exe, then it says that I dont have access so I type:



    /runas user:administrator bcdedit.exe



    and it says:



    attempting to start bcdedit...



    a screen flashes w/ some text on it (dos screen) but closes and I cant keep it open. So wahtever it is doing it. Can anyone else run bcdedit from vistA?
     
    Jason, Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.