Battle of the free Anti-Spyware Apps

Discussion in 'Security' started by Jason, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    For those of you who don't know you can get Microsoft antispyware for free now as its still in beta. Must have windows 2000 or later.
     
    Jason, Jan 2, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    TheWindowsAlternative

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i use OS X. with macintosh you don't have viruses and spyware.
     
    TheWindowsAlternative, Feb 17, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    _Venom_

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, hackers just don't see any point to creating viruses for mac os x, because the larger population of computer users are window users, not to metion corporations...





    Here check this link out...



    http://www.macworld.co.uk/news/index.cfm?home&NewsID=13880



    But with all the publicity this hacker has sturred up, you can bet you'll be hearing more about the subject...
     
    _Venom_, Feb 17, 2006
    #3
  4. Jason

    Guest Guest

    Why did you join the boards just to bash vista/windows? Im just curious.
     
    Guest, Feb 17, 2006
    #4
  5. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    If it was as popular as windows, youd have the same problem. ;)
     
    Jason, Feb 17, 2006
    #5
  6. Jason

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    I use Spybot S&D and one integrated into my firewall. Works great.
     
    Synapse, Mar 5, 2006
    #6
  7. Jason

    majmac

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Adaware SE/Pro.
     
    majmac, Jul 6, 2006
    #7
  8. Jason

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    for windows xp I use hitman pro. that are 5 spyware programs in one. the problem was that they all did a complete scan and update. my dad (I'm 15) would get really angry if he hear that I have turned that off:D. but I'm the only one who can turn the spyware scanner off.



    on vindows vista I use nothing. it's not my primary OS
     
    blackhat, Jul 21, 2006
    #8
  9. Jason

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    mac users already have enough to suffer:p



    yeeha vista mastermind
     
    blackhat, Aug 14, 2006
    #9
  10. Jason

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Spybot S&D all the way woot!!!

    Vista is full of problems already so I dont use anything on that, plus XP is what I use to game/ create impotant docs on.
     
    kingofnexus, Sep 20, 2006
    #10
  11. Jason

    babyb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0




    err not true sunshine, read the news....



    in fact..there has always been mac viruses, by definition a macro is a virus (an exec that runs without knowledge or consent) and macros have been around on macs for years (at least version 8)



    Mc Afee have made good money out of a product called Virex which was the first Mac Virus scanner.

     
    babyb, Nov 29, 2006
    #11
  12. Jason

    Camride

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I haven't found a need to run a spyware scanner in Vista. I kinda doubt most people will need a spyware scanner with the way Vista is setup. I've been running Vista build 6000 since a few days after it came out and I haven't had a single spyware/virus problem. I'm using AVG 7.5 free virus scanner though.

    :)
     
    Camride, Jan 12, 2007
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.