Asus wireless no go

Discussion in 'Networking & Internet' started by Snapafun, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. Snapafun

    Snapafun

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hi folks, but for this I'm enjoying Vista



    Got myself a Asus A6Km with a Broadcom wireless onboard card [ BCM4318 ] and Vista doesn't see it so cannot connect to my home network with Vista Ultimate just yet.



    Asus hasn't got any drivers yet ( nor did nVidia for the graphics card but for that I found laptopvideo2go.com that got that working ) and I'm hoping someone here has got their's working 'cause I enjoy doing my computer thing out in the lounge in a family enviroment.



    Any hints or suggestions anyone?
     
    Snapafun, Feb 23, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Snapafun

    Antrax

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    You need the correct drivers for the wireless device unfortunatley. Maybe you could pick up a compatible wireless usb receiver to use in the meantime? I know they dont cost much over here in the UK.
     
    Antrax, Feb 23, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Snapafun

    Snapafun

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Thanks for that - My update is that your suggestion appears to be the only way forward for now and this one time I won't mind an extra gadget with multi-function hanging around. So will be picking up a usb multi dock tomorrow.
     
    Snapafun, Feb 23, 2007
    #3
  4. Snapafun

    Snapafun

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Here is a somewhat strange update.

    I brought a Netgear WG111v2 USB adapter and after downloading the Vista driver from Netgear using my dual boot option ( PCLOS ) I was able to install it as the driver when prompted by Vista upon booting it and then connecting the adaptor.

    The strange part ?

    Upon connecting to the internet and updating Vista ( it did so behind the scenes and took about 30 mins ) I was instructed to reboot and did so only to realise that the adaptor was no longer accepted ( though still seen ) but that a Microsoft driver was able to recognize the Broadcom embedded adaptor ( BCM4318 ) and so connect to the router/modem BUT only in public use with SSID enabled. Even though I needed to reboot again later, I found that changing SSID to disabled had Vista NOT able to connect. Upon re-enabling SSID, Vista was alive on the web again. ( Yes I know about naming my connections and the wizard doesn't miss that point anyway )

    The problem ........ how do I get Vista to find a router that is not broadcasting its SSID ???
     
    Snapafun, Feb 25, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.