Antivirus on 5308

Discussion in 'Security' started by manikm, Mar 3, 2006.

  1. manikm

    manikm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    Has anyone managed to get an anti virus (free) working with Vista - i can get F-Prot to work (30 day trial) but the real time scan doesnt work. Trend Officescan doesnt work, nor does MacAfee.

    Anyone out there, please let me know.
     
    manikm, Mar 3, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. manikm

    manikm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    manikm, Mar 3, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. manikm

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Are you talking about any anti-virus or just free ones? Im not positive but I dont think you need to worry about getting virus's in Vista since it hasnt been released to the public there probably arnt and virus's that'll work on it. Now once it gets released you should probably grab one. I havnt tried it yet on my 5308, but I have used AVG free antivirus in the past and it works great on xp. You can download it free here:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download886.html. Tell me if it works for you.
     
    Jason, Mar 3, 2006
    #3
  4. manikm

    manikm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    Thanks for your comments!

    We arenervous about putting our Vistamachine on our network without any Antivirus in place first of all.

    Theres nothing to stop viruses written for XP or 2000 infecting a Vista machine.

    Up until now i've tried F-Prot, AntiVir, AVG, Panda, MacAfee - and some others - they all either semi work (no realtime scan) or just kill Vista altogether - you can't even safeguard the Vista install i.e ghost itup before experimenting becauseget a \Windows\System32\winload.exe error.

    Apparently "Trend" OfficeScan 7.3 (in Beta)works, but theres no English version available yet! Just French, German, etc. Crazy!!!

    OfficeScan 8.0 will support Vista, but won't be out until next year! LOL! DOH! :w00t:
     
    manikm, Mar 8, 2006
    #4
  5. manikm

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    thats interesting..In my opinion if this is some kind of buisness situation I wouldnt put a Beta OS on your network either, especially if their are important files stored on other servers. Otherwise I dont see there being much danger.
     
    Jason, Mar 8, 2006
    #5
  6. manikm

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    NOD 32 Works...

    And it owns all those programs.
     
    Synapse, Mar 8, 2006
    #6
  7. manikm

    TinBin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just install vista beta 2 64bit version



    running athlon 64 x2 4200+ fx7300 gfx card 512megs

    no probs with it yet, and i do like the feel and look of it



    but

    cannot get a virus prog to work with it



    tried norton 64bit corp and nod32 32/64

    both dont work.....
     
    TinBin, May 26, 2006
    #7
  8. manikm

    TinBin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i found this





    Windows VistaTM beta

    eTrust® EZ Antivirus



    u get email sent where to download it and

    serial for 12months virus updates

    enjoy



    sign up here

    http://www.my-etrust.com/Microsoft/vista/default.aspx



    of to install this on 64bit vista beta 2 hope it works ....
     
    TinBin, May 26, 2006
    #8
  9. manikm

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Report back if it works so we can let others know.
     
    Jason, Jun 16, 2006
    #9
  10. manikm

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    i found that program to be really really bad, i used it on 2 diff comps and both had problems with it, every time i restated windows it used to ask if it could have premision to run... that did my nut in...

    vista also offers you trend micro PC cillin internet security 14.... think you get 6 months usage from it and iv found it to be really stable and reliable... :)

    runs boths on 32bit and 64 :)

    available here

    https://www.trendbeta.com/index.php?get=80
     
    niffer022, Jun 17, 2006
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.