Another Local only problem

Discussion in 'Networking & Internet' started by Colin K, Jan 2, 2017.

  1. Colin K

    Colin K

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rugby UK
    Hello,
    Wondered if anyone could help me. My computer is an Advent and is running Vista 32 bit I have played with her a little in the last upgrading the RAM and it works great.
    Recently it has got very very slow taking up to an hour to boot so I stripped it down to find the inside choc a block with fluff. Using a small soft brush And hoover I cleaned her and the worst area was the power unit. Starting her up she booted in just over two minutes which is amazing and works through Word etc fantastic.
    However I have spent half a day trying to get her to connect to the router/internet and it just shows "identifying" when trying to connect. I have uninstalled the network adaptor and reinstalled put in the auto connects as I have googled but no good. I noticed then that she was calling it a public network! And not sure if it should be private? I cannot find a way of changing it as with it "identifying" all of the time I never get to see the customise icon to change it?
    I have it connected to the router via an ethernet cable which I have checked out and wondered whether one of these usb to router dongles might be my answer?

    Any help would be appreciated... Happy New Year, Colin.
     
    Colin K, Jan 2, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Colin K

    mike shupp

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, California
    um, um, um. My memory is that Vista ASSUMES you're connecting to a public network when you install a router, network card, or whatever, and you have to inform it otherwise if you want a private system. Click on the "Open Network and Sharing Center" panel, click on on "Change Your Networking Settings" and so on.

    Let us know what happens next.
     
    mike shupp, May 16, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. integra

    Network Connected: Local Only

    integra, Aug 24, 2006, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    5,989
    _Mike_
    Feb 15, 2007
  2. springwoodtech

    Network Card Local Only Problem

    springwoodtech, Feb 11, 2007, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,388
    springwoodtech
    Feb 11, 2007
  3. scotterwin

    Local Access Only?

    scotterwin, Jul 9, 2007, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,733
    Jason
    Jul 9, 2007
  4. roklipni

    Vista Ultimate - Local only network ... why?!

    roklipni, Jan 23, 2008, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,675
  5. WAW8
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,753
    lancea
    Feb 22, 2008
  6. gundam743

    "Local Only" Network Access

    gundam743, May 27, 2008, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,724
    W3000x2VHP
    Aug 18, 2008
  7. WAW8

    Local Only persisting problem

    WAW8, Feb 15, 2011, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    836
  8. Pynkkfur

    Unidentified network: local only problem :(

    Pynkkfur, Jun 4, 2016, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    461
    Jamie White
    Jun 6, 2016
Loading...