Administrator Privilages stop game from running

Discussion in 'Gaming Support' started by Robbo, May 15, 2007.

  1. Robbo

    Robbo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I purchased a laptop computer two days ago which runs Vista Premium as opposed to the trusted XP on my old desktop, but I'm having problems installing alot of my old games. One in particular game, X3 REUNION, appears to install ok ut when I try to run it an error message appears stating I require Administrator Privilages to install it. However, I am the only user and the game is being installed on my administrator account. The error message quotes code 3.5.10.6;3008. Any suggestions welcomed!
     
    Robbo, May 15, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Robbo

    MrCLoWnY

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried right clicking on the executable and use the Run as Administrator option?
     
    MrCLoWnY, May 15, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Robbo

    Robbo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    just tried this...exactly the same result as before unfortunately.
     
    Robbo, May 15, 2007
    #3
  4. Robbo

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    Might try running in compatibility mode also.



    Please dont post the same question in 2 different sections. Thanks.:)
     
    VistaRocks, May 15, 2007
    #4
  5. Robbo

    Robbo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also tried compatibility mode...still no joy. Sorry about two same questions in different sections, first time user as of yesterday. Thanks anyway!
     
    Robbo, May 16, 2007
    #5
  6. Robbo

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    If you type secpol.msc in the search box in start menu, and navigate to user accounts or something of that sort. (not on my vista pc right now), and turn on the admin account. Then log off and an Admin account should be there, log in to that one and try to install.
     
    Jason, May 16, 2007
    #6
  7. Robbo

    Walker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try turning off User Account Control....
     
    Walker, Jul 23, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.