Admin account issues

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by spiker12, Jun 17, 2007.

  1. spiker12

    spiker12

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to install my ati drivers and i keep getting this error setup will only run in administrator mode. setup is aborting. But i am in an admin account, please help
     
    spiker12, Jun 17, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. spiker12

    Wojman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try right clicking and click on Run As Administrator
     
    Wojman, Jun 17, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. spiker12

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    A common misconception that Vista produces -- you're NOT in an "admin" account, you just think you are. Vista installs two accounts on setup, the true "admin" account and a user account. When you login later, you're actually in the user account -- even though Vista claims that account is a member of the Administrators group.



    To login to the real "admin" account, you have to unhide it, and then login to that account. Clicking "Run as admin" when you install an app accomplishes much the same thing, but only does it on a case by case basis.
     
    WAW8, Jun 20, 2007
    #3
  4. spiker12

    spartacus1875

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you unhide the true admin account?
     
    spartacus1875, Jun 20, 2007
    #4
  5. spiker12

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Click Start --> Control Panel --> System Maintenance --> Administrative Tools

    Then select Computer Management

    Click Local Users and Groups

    Click the User folder

    Right-click Administrator, select Properties

    General tab, uncheck the Account is disabled box\

    Click OK, exit Computer Management

    Reboot



    Now, you'll get another user icon on the login screen. This one is for the real "Admin" account.
     
    WAW8, Jun 20, 2007
    #5
  6. spiker12

    Wojman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    One thing to remember, you have to have Vista Ultimate to have Users and Groups in your computer management, you also do not get Local Security Policies, which totally sucks!!!!:angry:
     
    Wojman, Jun 20, 2007
    #6
  7. spiker12

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Really??? I have Business and have the Users and Groups, and secpol in my version.
     
    WAW8, Jun 21, 2007
    #7
  8. spiker12

    Thomas_GistII

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Home Premium and I don't have a Local Users and Groups. I've searched through everything remotely related. Any alternate ways to show or disable Admin account?
     
    Thomas_GistII, Jan 22, 2008
    #8
  9. spiker12

    redbird985

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. Can someone PLEASE tell me how to change my Administrative account to myself. I also DO NOT have "Local Groups and Users". I have Vista 32. I AM the owner of this home computer and I am going nuts trying to reinstall a printer disk, and it won't let me because I don't have administrator rights according to the screen. As asked, is there an ALTERNATE way to change this. Please explain in 'baby steps' as I'm pretty novice at this.

    I have searched all the forums, and can't find an answer on how to change this when one does not have "Local Groups and Users".
     
    redbird985, Jan 22, 2008
    #9
  10. spiker12

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    You're addressing several related problems.



    I've just "pinned" a post on two methods of unhiding the "real" Admin account. Read that post and see if either of those methods work for you.



    Also, you can get Admin rights on as as-needed basis by right-clicking on an executable and selecting Run as Administrator from the menu. That's a good idea to use when installing an application.



    As to why you can not install a printer, which version of Vista are you running? Home Basic? Home Premium? Other? Also, is this a local printer or network printer?
     
    WAW8, Jan 23, 2008
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.