Acer Aspire 5735 Dark Screen

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by harri, Apr 14, 2011.

1. harri

harri

Hello, I'm a newbie so hope I have posted correctly. Can someone help with my issue. My laptop has suddenly developed a dark screen. It is not completely black as I can just make out things. I have done 'Fn F6' and this will intermittently brighten the screen for about 15 seconds then it goes dark again. I have checked the power settings and that is set to balanced and even reset it to default in case the problem was there. Lastly I have done a Factory Default Reset and still it has not fixed this issue so I am at a loss. The fact that 'Fn F6' does sometimes work confuses me. The laptop is running Windows Vista Home Premium (32 bit)fully updated untill the factory reset and it is approx two and a half years old and had no issues. I anxiously await a reply. Thankyou :(
    Harri

harri, Apr 14, 2011
    1. Advertisements

2. harri

WAW8

If it had been a driver issue (highly unlikely), a full factory reset would have fixed that because it would have restored the original drivers -- with which, apparently, the brightness level was OK.

You should try fiddling with the power settings some more. On mine, there are sliders at the bottom to adjust the brightness for each plan. If you have those, make sure they are all the way to the right. Also, look there to see when the screen gets dimmed.

WAW8, Apr 14, 2011
    1. Advertisements

3. harri

harri

RE; Acer Aspire 5735 Dark Screen