A problem caused the program to stop working correctly windows

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by SaDanTheMan, Nov 30, 2012.

1. SaDanTheMan

SaDanTheMan

Hello all, I'm kinda new to this so please bear with me on how to do things like this. I want to start off first by saying THANK YOU for helping out, even if you're in the same boat like me and can't figure it out. at least you did take the time to read this.

The very basics are :
    I'm running Windows Vista Ultimate on a Dell PC that I got for Christmas in 2008 or 2009. I AM NOT very good with the whole Internet thing nor do I know allot about computers. I'm not sure if it was something that I installed or downloaded or something that one of the other people here did.

The problem is that EVERY PROGRAM that I try to run (that is new), will not work. It crashes and give me a text of :

A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.

I have TRIED to download and install :
    Trend Micro HouseCall
    RootKitBuster
    cbsidlm-tr1_8-Free_Window_Registry_Repair
    WinZipRegistryOptimizer
    ARO2012_uc
    HijackThis
    and a few more, and ALL OF THEM I get the same thing.

It seems like it wants to install them but it stops right towards the end on most, and on others it will seem to be done, but nothing comes up after, and THEN I get the "A problem caused" screen.

I would prefer NOT do do an entire reinstall of the OS because there is just to many programs I have installed that I don't know where the original disc's are.