32bit vs 64bit Vista

Discussion in 'Main Lounge' started by Camride, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. Camride

    Camride

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Just curious to see how many people are running which versions.



    I'm only running 64bit right now, since I sold my laptop(32bit). I still have a few small issues with 64bit(all driver related) but it mostly doesn't cause problems.



    So which are you running and why?
     
    Camride, Jun 12, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Camride

    MafiaLord91

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running 32 bit and thats because the computer that has 64 bit support is kinda slow with Vista and my other really good computer only has 32 bit support. And I have another unmentionable reason.
     
    MafiaLord91, Jun 12, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Camride

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    64 bit all the way. Finished with driver issues back in january. Oh and also got to be Ultimate edition ;)
     
    kingofnexus, Jun 13, 2007
    #3
  4. Camride

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    x64, no reason not too since its the same price. Except for the headaches.
     
    Jason, Jun 14, 2007
    #4
  5. Camride

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    32bit right now, waiting for 64bit to mature more first before i move up to 64bit.
     
    VistaRocks, Jun 14, 2007
    #5
  6. Camride

    Wojman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running the 32bit for now :( but thinking about upgrading
     
    Wojman, Jun 17, 2007
    #6
  7. Camride

    cnlevo

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0


    same thing here... i just got Vista 32bit Ultimate and chose that because I didn't want to deal with driver issues....



    Is there a good website that has a list of available drivers for x64 version or do I just need to go to each site and check?
     
    cnlevo, Jun 28, 2007
    #7
  8. Camride

    Bill Maxwell

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just built a new PC 32Bit - Intel Mother Board DG965WH, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz,

    Kingston 1GB kit DDR2 800MZ and Kinngston 2GB kit DDR2 800MZ for a total of 3GB RAM.

    Seagate 320GB SATA HD

    VISTA HOME PREMIUM.

    Only had to down load the Video Driver.

    You ask...Why 3GB....Found out Vista 32bit will only recognise 3gb. Should be 4 but there is an addressing issue. Couple good web pages talkes about this..
     
    Bill Maxwell, Jul 26, 2007
    #8
  9. Camride

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I want to say the x64 driver issues have vastly improved throughout the past 6-8 months. Just about all my hardware has a Vista x64 driver from the manufacturer (unless it's old outdated hardware)
     
    Jason, Jul 27, 2007
    #9
  10. Camride

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    The issue is the x32 addressing limitations:



    In practice, the max memory is something significantly less, equal to 4GB minus your video card memory and the address space allocated to a couple other hardware resourcse. Typically, the realistic maximum memory is somewhere betwee 2.5GB and 3.5GB.
     
    Jason, Jul 27, 2007
    #10
  11. Camride

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Should have got x64 version of vista and you would have been able to have all 4GB. Virtually all drivers that are for 32bit Vista are also for 64bit Vista now, so really no reason not to upgrade. If your unlucky enough to have some hardware that hasn't got x64 support, there is probably a driver made by someone else you can use.

    My TV card for instance is made by a incompetant manufacturer (Hauppauge)that doesn't support hardware new to this year in vista - luckily someone hacked a driver together that works flawlessly.
     
    kingofnexus, Jul 28, 2007
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.