can't connect to internet via WPA

Discussion in 'Networking & Internet' started by RiyadTibi, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. RiyadTibi

    RiyadTibi

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hello, at home I connect my Sony laptop fine to our wireless router using WEP but at work cannot connect to the Internet via a router using WPA (I can connect fine to the router but not beyond it). Any suggestions? My colleagues at work suggest it 'should just work'.
     
    RiyadTibi, Mar 5, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. WAW8

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    At "work", is there any IT organization that manages either the network you're trying to use or the router? If so, you need to check with them, as no wireless access is going to "just work" as long as it is secured, using either WEP or WPA.
     
    WAW8, Mar 6, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. RiyadTibi

    RiyadTibi

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Yes of course there is a security key which I've entered and gets me as far as the router but not beyond. Do I need to change any obvious settings on the PC?
     
    RiyadTibi, Mar 6, 2012
    #3
  4. WAW8

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    With Vista (and later with Win7) came the concept of different types of networks -- work, public, and home -- and with each one, different limitations were imposed.

    Check with others at work, hopefully they're using Vista or Win7, and see what type of network they have set up -- and change yours to match. My guess is that yours should be set to "work".
     
    WAW8, Mar 6, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. BlueLine

    Cannot Connect Via Wireless but can Wired

    BlueLine, Feb 24, 2007, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,979
    Jason
    Feb 24, 2007
  2. xjayroox

    Making Vista connect to a Linux box via null modem

    xjayroox, May 7, 2007, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    811
    xjayroox
    May 7, 2007
  3. Haldy

    Can't connect to the internet (Vista Ultimate)

    Haldy, Jul 26, 2007, in forum: Networking & Internet
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,969
    printerpaul
    Aug 1, 2007
  4. Dimmah
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    791
    Dimmah
    Dec 20, 2007
  5. jmmj
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,874
Loading...

Share This Page