Windows Vista Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

New install; local access only

 
 
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
 
      9th March 2012, 10:51 PM
This is a new install on a older computer, I am connected to the home network, and can see other computers, however there is no internet access. When restarting computer it automatically goes to public network, I change it to private and still no internet, (same thing happens if I just restart the wireless adapter). I did notice that it is using xxx.xxx.1.1, and the rest of the computers use xxx.xxx.1.2. I tried to set it to use a custom address and it said that address was not valid.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,541
 
      13th March 2012, 07:45 PM
You need to check the WORKGROUP name that the other PCs use and confirm that this PC uses the same name.

The IP address you quoted is nearly always used for the network router, not for a PC. When you bring up your TCP/IP settings on your PC, it should show that "1" address under Gateway.

If your router is set to administer DHCP (which is required unless ALL of your {PC have static IP addresses), the other PCs, and this one, should be getting IP addresses that have numbers higher than "1" at the end.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local access only after reverting to Vista cwilly8 Networking & Internet 2 3rd February 2014 10:17 PM
"Local Only" Network Access gundam743 Networking & Internet 1 18th August 2008 11:17 AM
Turn your Vista Upgrade Disc into Full Version/Clean Install Disc Jason Installation & Compatibility 0 27th February 2008 12:00 PM
Local Access Only? scotterwin Networking & Internet 1 9th July 2007 12:25 PM
can i install my old xp drive and access files off it in vista? jph1207 General Technical 3 24th February 2007 06:49 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 PM.
Vista Forums is an independent website and is not affiliated with Microsoft Corporation.