Windows Vista Forums

Error 0x800423F3 when backing up or restoring

2nd February 2008, 07:28 PM
Hi all,

I have a Sony Vaio VGN-FE780G that is just a little over a year old. It originally came with Windows XP MCE. I upgraded to Vista Home Premium through the Sony Express Ugrade that came with the system.

I have been running Vista since April 2007. I have had once a weekautomatic backups running since that time and never had a problem.

This week the back up failed and gave the following message

"A shadow copy could not be created for the following reason. The writer experienced a transient error (0x800423F3).

I then tried to restore to a previous point just prior to the last backup and got the same message.

I'm not sure whether it is related, but I also can not access any of the system information using Windows Mangement System Information tool. In System Information I get the following message

"Can't collect information. Cannot access the Windows Instrumentation software. Windows management files may be moved or missing"

I haven't installedany new software or updated any drivers in the last week.

After searching for some answers I've done the following

Checked services to make sure VSS is started and checked to make sure WMI is started.

No help.

I'd really appreciate it if anyone could provide some assistance here.

Thanks,

Ken

3rd February 2008, 06:47 PM
Bump

Super Moderator

4th February 2008, 08:50 AM
Try the following:

1) Start the computer in Safe Mode without networking.

2) Open a command prompt as administrator

3) Type "net stop winmgmt" without quotes and press enter to make certain the WindowsManagementInstrumentation (WMI) service is not running.

4) Go to the windows\system32\WBEM\ and rename the Repository folder.

5) Reboot and restart as normal

6) Open a command prompt as administrator.

7) Type "net stop winmgmt" without quotes and press enter to stop the wmi service.

8) Type winmgmt /resetRepository and restart the system.